Two years ago, I had some serious issues in my lower spine. Surgery cured them, but now they’re coming back… to my back. Back to back back problems. (This could go on for paragraphs so I’m just going to cut to the chase: the back problems are affecting GRACE@ARMS’ concert schedule so I decided to start a short series explaining what’s going on and keeping you updated! Here we go.)

A photograph of a model of the bones and nerves of the lumbar spine taken in Dr. Mobasser's office at Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine at St. Vincent hospital in Indianapolis, by Bastion Crider on 2/7/12.

A long time ago, in a spinal position one disc away…

My back was not well-designed. As of two years ago, I had two bulging discs and one thinning disc. To make a long story short, the lower of my bulging discs started rubbing up against one of my sciatic nerves (specifically, the nerve running from my low back all the way down my leg). Eventually, the disc burst or herniated, releasing a disc fragment which lodged itself between my nerve and my spine. A few weeks later, the disc herniated again and a second fragment was released.

At this point, one of the largest nerves in my body is acting as a rubber band and holding two jagged chunks of spinal disc to my backbone. The pain was so excruciating that I was unable to sleep more than three hours per night and would still wake up convulsing in spasms of agony. My left leg went dead from the knee down and my doctors were afraid I’d never be able to use it again.

I met with my neurological surgeon, Dr. Jean-Pierre Mobasser, MD, who ordered emergency next-day surgery after viewing my MRI. He managed to drill in, move the nerve to the side, pull out the disc fragments, get the nerve back into place, and patch me up without any complications or difficulties. Relief was instantaneous and lasted for several months until…

[Continued in Part 2: BACK to BACK!]

Let me commend Dr. Mobasser. I have a lot of faith in my doctors’ analysis and skill. I came into Dr. Mobasser’s office in great pain and with the mindset of, “you’re a god. Whatever you think will fix me is a procedure I will trust.” Dr. Mobasser even had to stop me at one point and say, “it’s good to have a healthy fear of surgery.” Despite his warnings, Dr. Mobasser met and exceeded every unreasonable expectation I had. I will always come to him for nerve, brain, and spine issues (though hopefully I won’t have any more) and I would recommend him to anyone.
He has never asked me to endorse him (I’ve never even told him I have a rock band), and I’m sure that if he read this, he would indicate that I have more faith in him than I should, but I want to state that Dr. Jean-Pierre Mobasser, MD, of Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine in Indianapolis, is a spectacular surgeon, is personable, is bright, and has my full endorsement.

Until surgery, the doctor recommends against rocking out to the Terminator theme song (though my ultimate recommendation is that my spine be replaced with a cybernetic endoskeleton).

If you enjoy my blog, feel free to subscribe, Like my Facebook page, or Follow my Twitter account for news, updates, and inspirational thoughts. – Bastion

If you are unfamiliar with GRACE@ARMS, feel free to explore the headings at the top of this page, find our music on iTunes, enjoy our YouTube page, or Like our Facebook page to keep up to date.

An image of Bastion Crider of Grace at Arms (GRACE@ARMS) on stage at a Grace at Arms concert on January 27, 2012 at Birdy's Bar and Grill in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Comments
  1. [...] BACKground (Back Problems Part 1) [...]

  2. [...] BACKground (Back Problems Part 1) Archives [...]

  3. [...] you missed Part 1 and Part 2, I’ve got an exploding disc in my spine that’s causing me all sorts of [...]

  4. [...] you missed Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3, I’ve been battling the shards of an exploding disc in my spine.  When [...]

Leave a Reply

